MistoBox May 2013 (“Awesome” size box)

Standard

 

Hi folks,

I had the pleasure to receive a complementary box from MistoBox.  MistoBox is a monthly coffee subscription service.  They taste and evaluate more than 50 coffees every month from different artisan roasters across the country. They then hand select 4 of the most delicious and unique single origin coffees to send you. You’ll never get the same coffee twice, so every box will bring new, interesting flavor profiles.  They have 2 monthly options, their “Awesome” box which sends (4) 1.7 ounce bags of coffee beans and their “More Awesome” box which sends (4) 3.4 ounce bags of coffee beans.  Monthly costs are $15 and $30 respectively.  Right now, you can get your 1st “Awesome” box for only $5 and your 1st “More Awesome” box for only $10.  You can also choose to receive either 1 or 2 boxes/month.  For the purpose of this review I received their “Awesome” size.

I’m working with MistoBox to get a discount code I can pass on to you – stay tuned.  The same goes on a giveaway for blog followers, stay tuned, I’ll announce details as soon as I can.

Because of my propensity to suffer from insomnia I don’t drink caffeinated coffee late in the afternoon, which is when I received this box.  Because of this, I will show and describe all of the box contents then revise this post as me and my hubby try each of the selections.  In this case, my hubby will be my guinea pig.  I will provide both my opinion and his :).

Even though I did receive this free trial box from MistoBox, my opinions are not influenced by the free products and I would never recommend anything to anyone that I would not, myself, use or that I felt was not worth spending your money on.

Ok, let’s get to the box I received:

Image

Image

Image

Image

I’ll admit it I am a sucker for cute boxes and subscription boxes get extra points, with me, for presentation.  I must say MistoBox did not disappoint in this area.  They have a wonderfully presented product!

The card, inside each box, has information about the 4 different coffees received.  I love that the cards tell you, not only about the coffee but also, the name of the roaster.  I will enjoy looking up more info. about each US based roaster.  We have a local roaster the next town over who roasts organic, free trade beans and I am going to suggest they reach out to MistoBox about being featured in their boxes 🙂  Maybe it’s the nerd in me but I like the little tidbits of information on each bag.  I especially like that they list the roasting date – it’s fresh coffee!  Freshness does, absolutely, make for the best cup of coffee.  Lastly, I like the tasting notes.  They remind me of the tasting/aroma notes used to describe fine wines.  As we try each coffee I’ll add our tasting notes.  It will be interesting to see if they match those on the bags.

On the back of the card it says:

Bon Voyage! This month, we are taking you on a journey around the globe to show you how different coffees can be based on where they were grown.  

We’re showcasing coffees from each of these major growing regions:

Central America: As coffee cultivation extended throughout the New World in the early 1700′s, it quickly became one of Central America’s most important agricultural products.

Asia/Pacific: The Dutch government were the first to spread coffee cultivation outside of Africa, by secretly bringing coffee plants to islands like Java in the 1960’s.  

South America: The Dutch government and French missionaries introduced coffee farming to the Caribbean islands and then to Brazil, where it expanded to places like Colombia.   

Africa: The indigenous birthplace of the coffee plant, all coffee originated in the region of Kaffa, Ethiopia, where we get the word ‘coffee’ from.”

On the back of the card it says:

Image

Each bag of coffee beans also offers some detailed information:

Image

Image

Image

Image

Ok, off for now.  We’ll start trying the coffee tomorrow and I’ll begin adding our honest opinions. Like I said above, we have a local coffee roaster the next town over so, I’m very interested in seeing how these compare to our local coffee roaster.

7 responses »

  1. Hi there, I discovered your website by the use of
    Google whilst searching for a similar topic, your site came up, it looks great.
    I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hi there, just became alert to your weblog via Google, and
    located that it’s really informative. I’m gonna be careful for brussels.
    I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future. Lots of other folks will be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

  2. Hey! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog platform
    are you using for this site? I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had
    problems with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  3. I am actually using WordPress and so far am happy with them. It could be better but for a free platform I seem to have all I need for now. I may look into some other platforms but what I don’t know is how I would transfer all my content over from WordPress to a new blog.

  4. Pingback: MistoBox UPDATE – Taste Test | Crazy 4 Subscription Boxes

  5. Pingback: MistoBox – 1 FREE BOX w/ code! | Crazy 4 Subscription Boxes

Leave a comment