Stork Stack – May 2013 (9-month old girl)

Standard

Hi fellow subscription box “addicts”.  Stork Stack was my very 1st subscription box I ever received.  Even though I was personally disappointed with this box, I loved the idea of subscription boxes each month and ordered more, just different companies.  Stork Stack is a monthly subscription for babies and toddlers and costing $27.99/month.  Unfortunately they do not offer any discounts for signing up for longer subscriptions like a lot of the boxes out there.

I apologize for the poor picture of the overall box and for using stock photos for some of the items.  I got this box before I started this blog so didn’t think to take pictures.  I already gave a few of the items away so I need to use stock pictures.

All retail prices listed are from Amazon, when available.  If not available through Amazon I used pricing on the company’s website.

Image

The items came wrapped in very cute tissue paper with red storks on it.  Again, apologies for not having the paper anymore to take a photo.  At the time I received this box I had no idea of the blog journey I would embark on.

Here is what was in the box:

1.  Rubbabu Education Ball (Retail $6.95) – While this is cute my opinion is that balls are a dime a dozen and I can get them almost anywhere.  When I signed up for subscription boxes, I was most excited at the opportunity to try items I hadn’t seen before.  Sadly, this ball falls short of that for me.

Image

2.  Stephen Joseph Owl Bank (Retail $6.99) – This is also very cute but pretty impractical, sadly.  I would love a cute bank for my granddaughter and owls are part of her nursery theme but this bank is so tiny I doubt it will hold more than a few dollars.  I am keeping it and will put it in her room at our house. But, I’ll be looking for another bank to hold more.  Stephen Joseph has a ton of very cute items on their website.  I wish Stork Stack had selected another item.

Image

3.  North American Bear Company Stuffed Rabbit (Retail $9.10) – This Rabbit is very cute and oh-so soft.  My problem with this item is, very much like the ball, it’s just another stuffed animal and little ones have so many of those already.  In terms of receiving unique items I haven’t seen before, this one also fails that criteria.

Image

4.  Deep Steep Moisture Stick in Passion Fruite/Guava (Retail $5.99) – I actually received one of these in a box from another company and do like it.  I suffer from occasional dry skin and like that this slips easily into my purse.

Image

5.  The last item I received was Dapple Dish Liquid, 3 ounces (Retail $1.24) – I like the idea of not using chemicals for my granddaughters bottles, nipples, binkies etc.  It’s also the perfect size for the diaper bag.

Image

The total value of this box was $30.25.  Yes, that’s more than the $27.99/month cost but not, exactly, a great value in my eyes.

I was very disappointed with this box and canceled my subscription after receiving it.  I have read positive reviews on Stork Stack in the past and seen some great boxes.  Perhaps, I’ll give them another try later on down the road.  I have purchased several other baby boxes and want to see them before making that decision.  At this point, I am having a hard time paying for this box.  Perhaps, I can work with Stork Stack to give them another try.  Like I said, I heard such great reviews on Stork Stack so, I was surprised.  Maybe I’ll reach out to them and see if they offer a blogger package so I can give them another try and do another review.

2 responses »

  1. I always have this problem with Stork Stack. They have great boxes until I subscribe and then the boxes stink. I have two more months with them, but unless they get much better, I will probably cancel again.

    • I hear your pain ;). I am trying a few other baby boxes ut will keep my eye out on Stork Stack reviews by others. I may try them again, not sure. If they’d be willing to provide a blogger box I’d certainly do another review. But, at this point, I’m not willing to spend my hard earned money on them.

Leave a Reply

