ChefDay! 2nd Taste Test & Discount Code

Standard

chefday logo3

Hi everyone, I am so pleased to bring you my taste test review for the 2nd ready to prepare gourmet meal ChefDay! sent me.

For those who missed my original unboxing click here to read it.

What is Chefday! you’re asking?  Chefday! delivers short, easy, ready to prepare gourmet meals requiring few utensils.  They make sure that everyone can make them.  All of their ingredients are 100% organic.  Their menu changes weekly and will likely feature dairy-free, gluten-free and/or vegetarian recipes.  Everything is pre-measured even salt and olive oil.  In addition a family in need will also be enjoying a hearty dinner. Every time you cook with Chefday!, they donate a full meal to the Food Bank for NYC.  (*** I want to be fair to each and every company I review.  So, I need to tell you that I forgot to include information about a similar program run by the previous ready to prepare gourmet meal service I reviewed last week.  They donate a pound of food to a local food bank for every week you subscribe).

Chefday! currently delivers to 19 states (in their entirety) : CT, DC, DE, IL, IN, KY,MA, ME, MD, NH, NJ, NY, OH, PA, RI, TN, VA, VT, WV.  They also deliver to some parts of these states: AL, AR, GA, IA, MI, MO, MS, NC, SC, WI.  You can check to see if they deliver to you on their website.  If they don’t deliver to your area yet you can sign up for a free, no obligation account and they will notify you when they do.  This is in NO way signing you up for service.  It is simply a way for them to notify you when they expand to your area.

*** Want to try Chefday! and receive 25% off your 1st order?  Simply use this link to place your order and you will receive 25% off!.  CLICK HERE TO SAVE 25% OFF YOUR 1ST CHEFDAY! ORDER.

My 2nd gourmet meal was Bombolotti Alla Gricia.  Click here for the full recipe.

Ok on to my taste test:

Here is the beautiful bad and ingredients for this Yummy recipe.

IMG_3379

IMG_3398

After starting the boiling water it was time to slice the gricia.  I was a little worried that I wouldn’t like this recipe because I did not like the smell of the guanciale.  It has nothing to do with what ChefDay! sent.  I generally can’t stand the smell of any cured meat.  As soon as I started cooking the guanciale, in the frying pan with olive oil, it took on a very smoky, nutty aroma, which I do like. It tasted even better then is smelled :).  This recipe was so amazingly easy to prepare – boil pasta, slice and sautee the guanciale, mix together and add cheese.  The fact that something so yummy to make could be so easy makes me wonder why I have never made a dish like this before.  Then I remember – I HATE THE GROCERY STORE LOL.

Here are the pictures of the finished product.  You’ll notice they look slightly different.  I decided not to add chili flakes to one of the plates because my hubby doesn’t like spicy food.  Then I recalled my hubby is actually in New York training at Lake Placid with a friend.  He has this crazy notion to do an Iron Man Race.  Any way I digress.  I am so used to preparing products for review I just naturally separated the plates for him and her.

IMG_3487-001

IMG_3477

IMG_3475-001

A couple things are quite obvious seeing the final meals.  ChefDay! doesn’t skimp on quantity.  As with the previous meal from ChefDay!, that we prepared, there is more than enough for 2 people.  This could feed 4, in my opinion.  They also did not skimp on the cheese.  The recipe calls for mixing half of the cheese into the pasta and sprinkling the rest on top, which I did.  You can clearly see all the globs of cheese in the photos and this is only ½ the quantity they sent.  I LOVE cheese in my Italian dishes – never too much cheese if you ask me.  This really did have the perfect amount.

So, what do I think of ChefDay?  If I were to tell you that I LOVE ChefDay! I feel like that just wouldn’t do it justice.  What is not to love about getting ready to prepare, gourmet meals delivered right to your door?  The answer is there is nothing not to love about that.  There is, however lots to love about ChefDay! like:

No or less trips to the grocery store

Perfectly measured ingredients – NO measuring and very little cutting, chopping etc.

100% organic ingredients

Very little cleanup

Supporting a NYC food bank – ChefDay! donates a meal for every ChefDay! meal ordered

Perfectly timed meals – everything is done at the exact same time

Recipes available on-line in print and video – I had to add this last one.  I removed the ChefDay! bag from the refrigerator to make tonight’s meal and searched everywhere for the recipe card.  I couldn’t find it and I stood there for several minutes trying to determine if I could just wing it.  Then I had one of those ah-ha moments ;).  ChefDay! puts all their recipes on-line.  Basic recipe overviews are available to anyone but full recipe cards and how to videos are available to customers.  So ChefDay! to the rescue.  With a click of my mouse I had everything I needed right at my fingertips.  Win-win because as the pasta was boiling and the gricia was frying I had time to check my Facebook….. perfect!

Leave a Reply

